Since 1968, the Governor’s Twenty has been awarded to the top marksman in the state of Pennsylvania.

Earlier this month, seventy Pennsylvania National Guard soldiers and airmen took part in a marksmanship competition to determine who would be named to this year.

The events, which took place at Fort Indiantown Gap, included shooting targets from a variety of distances and shooting positions and was administered by the PNG Individual Training Branch, Marksmanship Training Unit.

(U.S. Army photo by Master Sgt. Daniel Palermo)

Those that scored in the top twenty were presented with the Governor’s Twenty tab and a certificate. This award is recognized by both the Army and Air Force and will appear in the service member’s official personnel record.

“This match tests the skill and strength of our Guardsmen through an intense marksmanship competition,” said Maj. Gen. Tony Carrelli, Pennsylvania’s adjutant general and head of the Department of Military and Veterans Affairs (DMVA).

(U.S. Army photo by Master Sgt. Daniel Palermo)

“This competition is the great equalizer. It does not matter whether you are Army or Air Force, officer or enlisted, young or old, or what type of unit you represent. Whoever can shoot the best can be a Governor’s Twenty. My congratulations goes to Senior Airman Yackovich for taking first place, and to all of the other competitors for their impressive dedication during this grueling competition.”

Five of the top-twenty marksmen were from Lebanon County including Sgt. 1st Class Scott Sheroky of Fredericksburg, Chief Warrant Officer 3 Andrew Harrison of Palmyra, Chief Warrant Officer 4 Richard Jones of Lebanon, Sgt. 1st Class Joshua Mauger of Annville, and Staff Sgt. David McCloud of Annville.

Pennsylvania Soldiers, Airmen Compete in Governor's Twenty Match to Determine Best Marksmen
(U.S. Army photo by Master Sgt. Daniel Palermo)

The 2019 Governor’s Twenty recipients are: 

  1. Senior Airman Nicholas Yackovich, Harrison City (Westmoreland County)
  2. Sgt. 1st Class Scott Sheroky, Fredericksburg (Lebanon County)
  3. Staff Sgt. Robert Lydic, Pittsburgh (Allegheny County)
  4. Tech. Sgt. Joseph Mangino, New Castle (Lawrence County)
  5. Sgt. Jason Goodling, York Haven (York County)
  6. Chief Warrant Officer 3 Andrew Harrison, Palmyra (Lebanon County)
  7. Staff Sgt. Douglas Costello, Mountain Top (Luzerne County)
  8. Chief Warrant Officer 4 Richard Jones, Lebanon (Lebanon County)
  9. Sgt. Stephan Duc, Fleetwood (Berks County)
  10. Sgt. Harold Littell, Wampum (Lawrence County)
  11. Cpl. Brennen Koji, State College (Centre County)
  12. Sgt. 1st Class Lance Moser, Mt. Wolf (York County)
  13. Sgt. 1st Class Luke Heim, Pottstown (Montgomery County)
  14. Tech. Sgt. Shawn McCreary, Pittsburgh (Allegheny County)
  15. Pfc. Austin Barnhart, Lock Haven (Clinton County)
  16. Staff Sgt. Andrew Dent, Mifflinburg (Juniata County)
  17. Sgt. 1st Class Joshua Mauger, Annville (Lebanon County)
  18. Staff Sgt. David McCloud, Annville (Lebanon County)
  19. Sgt. Joshua Wetzel, Howard (Centre County)
  20. Airman 1st Class Patrick Michael, Aliquippa (Beaver County)


LebTown membership required to comment.

Already a member? Login here

Leave a comment

Kindly keep your comments brief and respectful. We will remove comments that do not abide by these simple rules.