Both parties will have mostly uncontested primaries in the 2020 state House races for Lebanon County.

The 101st House District will see incumbent Frank Ryan as the sole Republican nominee, with Democratic candidate Calvin Clements the sole nominee for his party. The 101st House District represents Cornwall, Lebanon, Mount Gretna, North Cornwall Township, North Londonderry Township, Palmyra, South Annville Township, South Londonderry Township, and West Cornwall Township.

The 102nd House District has incumbent Russ Diamond as the sole Republican nominee and Matthew Duvall as the sole Democratic nominee. The 102nd House District represents Annville Township, Bethel Township, Cleona, Heidelberg Township, Jackson Township, Jonestown, Millcreek Township, Myerstown, North Lebanon Township, Richland, South Lebanon Township, Swatara Township, Union Township, and West Lebanon Township.

In the 104th House District, which represents largely areas of Dauphin County as well as East Hanover Township and North Annville Township in Lebanon County, Republican incumbent Sue Helm of Dauphin County will face primary challenger Travis Stauffer of Lebanon County. Dauphin County Democratic candidate Patty Smith is running unopposed for her party’s nomination to the 104th race.

The general primary will be held April 28. The last day to register to vote before the primary is April 13.

An informed democracy is a healthy democracy.
An independent press makes democracy work better. Join LebTown as a member to help us make a difference. Benefits include member happy hours, an email preview of what we plan to publish each week, and access to our Friends of the Newsroom group on Facebook.

Learn more and join now here.

Full Disclosure: The campaign of Frank Ryan is an advertiser on LebTown. LebTown does not make editorial decisions based on advertising relationships and advertisers do not receive special editorial treatment. Learn more about advertising with LebTown here.


LebTown membership required to comment.

Already a member? Login here

Leave a comment

Kindly keep your comments brief and respectful. We will remove comments that do not abide by these simple rules.